Collins Classics - Sanditon: & Other Stories (Collins Classics)

By Jane Austen

HarperCollins is proud to present its new range of best-loved, essential classics.

‘Those who tell their own story, you know, must be listened to with caution.’

When young Charlotte Heywood arrives in the seaside resort of Sanditon, a town seeking to reinvent itself as a fashionable destination, she too attempts to begin anew.

As she begins to settle into Sanditon society, a slew of new arrivals stirs up emotions. Among them are relatives of the wealthy widow Lady Denham, seeking her generous fortune; Miss Lambe, a rich heiress; and Sydney Parker, the handsome young man who catches Charlotte’s eye. Charlotte must navigate the complicated web of liaisons, finding herself more involved than she ever intended…

Collected here with her unfinished work The Watsons, and the novella-in-letters, Lady Susan, Austen’s final, unfinished novel demonstrates her biting sense of humour and gives readers a thrilling glimpse of a genius at work.

Format: Paperback
Release Date: 02 Sep 2021
Pages: 272
ISBN: 978-0-00-851613-0
Jane Austen (1775–1817) was an English novelist whose work centred on social commentary and realism. Her works of romantic fiction are set among the landed gentry, and she is one of the most widely read writers in English literature.